Nursing & Midwifery Council Test In UK

NMC registration

NMC registration

NMC computer based test (CBT)

Since October 2014, nurses and midwives trained outside the European Economic Area who are seeking UK registration must pass the NMC test of competence.

This test consists of two parts and measures applicants against pre – 2018 standards for preregistration nursing education and our current standards for pre-registration midwifery education.

It assesses the essential professional knowledge, skills and attitudes required for safe and effective nursing or midwifery practice in the UK.

We provide support and tutoring for the applicant, who then takes the test whilst in their home country. Once the CBT is passed, we will continue with the application process

Test overview

The test of competence is specific to the appropriate nursing field or midwifery and always consists of two parts:

  • Part 1: Computer based test (CBT)
  • Part 2: Nursing or midwifery objective structured clinical examination (OSCE)

Related Links: